Skip to content

IDEA Committee

IDEA Committee Thin Banner w/ UD Logo

The Inclusion and Diversity in Education Abroad (IDEA) Committee was formed in Fall 2019 for the purpose of bringing together key partners who could provide feedback and support for the Office of Education Abroad’s goals related to diversity and inclusion. In Spring 2019, the Office of Education Abroad completed Diversity Abroad’s Access, Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity (AIDE) Roadmap to assess areas of strength and opportunities for improvement. One suggestion from the AIDE Roadmap was to create a committee of partners across campus who could lend different perspectives and guidance as we develop and execute plans for creating an inclusive environment and programming that supports participation by diverse populations. 

The current members of the IDEA Committee are as follows:

Meghan Gwinn* (co-chair), Administrative Coordinator, Office of Education Abroad
    mgwinn1@udayton.edu

Kelly Brannan Trail* (co-chair), Director, Office of Education Abroad
    ktrail1@udayton.edu

Merida Allen, Associate Dean of Students; Executive Director, Multi-ethnic Education and Engagement Center
    mallen2@udayton.edu

Megan Woolf, Assistant Director, Multi-ethnic Education and Engagement Center
    mwoolf1@udayton.edu

Mary Niebler*, Coordinator of Cross-Cultural Immersions, Center for Social Concern
    mniebler1@udayton.edu

Beth Combs, Assistant Director, Flyer Student Services
    cahille1@udayton.edu

Laura Hutchinson, Coordinator, LGBTQ+ Student Services
    lhutchinson1@udayton.edu

Kelly Bohrer*, Acting Director, ETHOS Center and Director of Community Relations, School of Engineering
    kbohrer1@udayton.edu

Tiffany Taylor Smith, Executive Director for Inclusive Excellence Education, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
    ttaylorsmith1@udayton.edu

Melissa Recht, Access Coordinator, Office of Learning Resources, Disability Services
    mrecht1@udayton.edu

Amy Anderson, Associate Provost for Global and Intercultural Affairs; Executive Director, Center for International Programs
    aanderson2@udayton.edu

Student Representatives are as follows:

(TBD)

Friends of the Committee are as follows:

Sam Surowitz, Director, Military and Veteran Programs and Services
    ssurowitz1@udayton.edu


Ieesha Ramsey, Director, TRIO Upward Bound Program
    iramsey1@udayton.edu

Zachary Lewis, Student Success Librarian and Assistant Professor
    zlewis1@udayton.edu

Students may reach out to any member of the IDEA Committee to share ideas or feedback on experiences as they relate to diversity and inclusion in education abroad. Committee members are also happy to discuss aspects of a student’s identity(ies) and their plans for education abroad. 

*Members listed with an asterisk (*) are available to advise on specific programs related to their office.